Grace

Grace

I don’t know why, but for me the word ‘Grace’ has a special ring to it. It just sounds peaceful, soothing and loving in some sort way that I can’t really explain. It’s like a calming hand in the boisterousness of life. Like chamomile tea; only better.

Earlier today, I was thinking of moments where I had made wrong decisions but was still covered by the grace of God. I remembered that there had been situations where I had thought, “This is the end of it. There’s no way God would forgive me now for what I’ve done. Even I wouldn’t forgive myself if I were God.” When such situations are over, all I can think is Thank God I’m not God, because, if I were, I would have shown wrath where I should have shown mercy.

I thought to myself, why does God forgive my wrongs, when humanly speaking, no one would want to forgive me? It was while I was thinking on this, that I heard the soft whisper “Grace”.

It wasn’t about what I could do right. It was about God loving me so much, He extends His grace to me even though I am always undeserving.

It is this grace that has the power to save from sin and all else. It brings hope to the hopeless. It forgives and forgets all. It cleans all our grime and makes us as white as snow. And most importantly, it makes us joint heirs with Jesus in heaven.

“For the grace of God that bringeth salvation hath appeared to all men” – Titus 2:11 (KJV)

“That being justified by his grace, we should be made heirs according to the hope of eternal life.” – Titus 3:7 (KJV)

I realise that, it is not a matter of me ever deserving it. It is not the magnitude of my wrong that determines how much grace will be extended to me. It’s about God loving me so much, that He covers all my short comings, regardless of what they might be with His grace.

Leave a comment