The Key

Sins

Advertisement: Want a life that offers the best? Apply within!

Are you looking for peace? Are you in need of someone that understands your pain? Are you looking for one that loves you more than you love yourself? Do you seek success/good health that comes at no cost? If yes, then I’ve got the right place for you – Apply to true Christianity. “Ho, every one that thirsteth, come ye to the waters, and he that hath no money; come ye, buy, and eat; yea, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price.” – Isaiah 55:1 (KJV)

Here, God is the employer; there are placements for anyone and everyone. No rejections; everyone is guaranteed a place! All you need is to come to Him just as you are. No qualifications needed, no experiences required and all training will be done by Jesus Christ Himself.

Some days ago, I sat in my room thinking about how boring everything around me was. I wanted something fun. I didn’t feel like reading a novel. I wasn’t interested in watching anything. I had no clue what to do. Then another thought occurred,

Being a Christian really limits the amount of fun things you can do!

While I was thinking on this, I asked myself, “What exactly is fun?”

It is often very disturbing when I think of the things that we tend to regard as fun in today’s society. For some people, it’s drinking alcohol to the point where they are incapable of reasoning. I can’t help but wonder what’s fun in something you have no memory of; waking up with an aching head, or not remembering embarrassing moments of your life?

No matter how much I think about it, I just never could understand. But it is the “in” thing. If you don’t drink then you are seen as a lame, boring person. For some people, it’s not so much for fun, but as a means of forgetting their problems and pain, while it might seem to help in the night, does the problem not still exist in the morning?

For other people their fun is in sex. The ideology of “no sex before marriage” is mocked. If you haven’t been involved in the act at a certain age, then you need a life. The sacredness of marriage is diminished to the point where it’s almost non-existent. After all, everything you can get in marriage is available elsewhere. “Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.” – 1 Corinthians 6:18 (KJV)

As humans, we come across situations that are beyond our comprehension or ability at some point in our lives. How do we deal with such situations? Do we look to worldly things for understanding? Do we seek answers that build us as people or ones that destroy us?

I can’t help but be worried about how our thinking as altered so much so that things that are morally wrong are, now, not-so-bad. In one of my modules at uni, there is a case study of a chief editor of a newspaper that manipulated people most of his growing life to reach the position of power. The text goes into detail about all the people he used with no care for what happens to them. We are almost encouraged to emulate him if we are to be great managers in the future. We are taught that except you manipulate and rule people, the chances of being successful are very limited.

Whatever happened to morality? Whatever happened to realising that there is more to the world than us?

I thought this over and over. Why is wrong so easily accepted and sometimes encouraged?  Why do things that destroy our souls attract us so much? Why do we see evil as good?

I realised that in our humanly state, we are extremely limited. The problem with that is the fact that a lot of us fail to see it. We believe we can make our own path. We give convenient meanings to things and think that that changes them from what they really are. We try to control situations that are way over our heads.

Unfortunately, whether we admit it or not, we can achieve no good on our own. Our conceit destroys us. In trying to be God, we get so enslaved to sin that we fail to see that it’s ruling us, while we go on thinking we are the boss of ourselves.

It is easy to fall victim to the lies of the devil when he makes us belief we are in control and all our wrongs don’t really matter. You can just hear that little nagging voice in your head telling you to go ahead and do things you never imagined you would do; saying that there would be joy and excitement in doing it but when it is over, all you feel is emptiness and its back to where you started.

While I realised these things, I also realised something else. In the midst of this hopelessness, there is HOPE – Jesus Christ. I have only known Him for a couple of years but I have realised that all good things come from Him. “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh from the Father of lights…” – James 1:17 (KJV)

His word has so many promises that are beyond imagination for anyone that comes to Him. He also says that none of His word will go out without accomplishing that which He has sent it to do. From ages past, His word has always proven true and I know that all the fun and good that I need are found in Him.

What is that good thing that you want? He is asking you today to come to Him, apply within and you are guaranteed a place!

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.” – Matthew 11:28, 29 (KJV)

4 thoughts on “The Key

  1. How I thank God for people like you (the writer) I am revived, renewed and I have found my key! I had been missing my friend so I decided to go browse her Facebook wall, got this link that was posted on her wall.

    God is so good………….I’m beyond words with hope, joy and love with my Christ who is my key.

    I thank you for such a beautiful post, God bless you.

  2. All glory and thanks be to God.
    We are blessed to have the opportunity contribute our little effort in encouraging one another on this Christian journey.
    We pray God would always use us as His vessels.

    Thank you and God Bless you xx

Leave a comment