The Faithful

faithfulTwo days ago, I got my results. The exams went so well that I had high expectations. Not only had the Holy Spirit directed me to the areas to read for the most part, I also studied more than usual.

On receiving my results, my tutor talked about how good they were. She must have noticed I wasn’t sharing her excitement because she asked if the result was what I was expecting. I told her frankly that it wasn’t. I had expected something much better. She tried to cheer me up by comparing my average to those of other students, but it just wasn’t working.

When she realised nothing at that moment could change how I felt, she told me that she was happy for me even if I wasn’t happy for myself. I left her office to tell my dad about the result (which I was dreading) but surprisingly, he also congratulated me on the result even though I knew he was hoping for more. This only served to increase my frustration.

While I was lamenting my lot, I remembered a time something similar happened and my best friend chastised me for my ungrateful attitude, so I tried to get myself out of the funk. I gave myself pep talks about how people that worked harder than I did didn’t get a result that was as good as mine and how it could have been worse. But all of it made very little difference.

The next morning, while doing my devotion, I read about Job and how the devil was permitted to take all that he owned. He was sure Job would curse God and that the only reason Job was faithful was because God had blessed him abundantly.

But regardless of what happened, Job never swayed and blessed the LORD still “… Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave, and the LORD hath taken away; bless the name of the LORD. In all this Job sinned not, nor charged God foolishly” – Job 1:21, 22 (KJV)

As I read this, the previous day came to mind. I saw myself as one that charged God foolishly. Because I didn’t get what I wanted; I was pouting like a spoilt child. I had gotten so used to asking and receiving that not getting what I wanted was just not acceptable. I felt sorry that I had let the devil have the upper hand.

I had forgotten that everything in my life happened for a reason. It could have been one of those moments where the devil is trying to prove God wrong like he tried to do with Job.

After reading all the bible passages, I prayed for God to put in me a heart and attitude like Job’s that He can prove time and time again.
“Then said his wife unto him, dost thou still retain thine integrity? Curse God and die. But he said unto her, thou speakest as one of the foolish women speaketh. What? Shall we receive good at the hand of God, and shall we not receive evil? In all this did not Job sin with his lips.” – Job 2:9, 10 (KJV)

“Though he slay me, yet will I trust in him: but I will maintain my own ways before him.” – Job 13:15 (KJV)

“But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.” – Job 23:10 (KJV)

“All the while my breath is in me, and the spirit of God is in my nostrils; My lips shall not speak wickedness, nor my tongue utter deceit.” – Job 27:3, 4 (KJV)

 

Leave a comment