Song of the Week – Superhuman (Andy Mineo)

“I like people that are religious like you”, “I’ve always thought of you as very holy”, “You are an example to others”, “I thought you are like the poster-girl for church” on and on.

On numerous occasions, I have had to listen to comments like this. At first, I thought nothing of it; they were just passing comments. But as time went on they only got worse. Eventually, I tried defending myself that I was far from all they said, but that served little to no purpose – they thought I was being humble.

Time and time again, I tried to figure out what I said or did that gave people the impression that I had Christianity all figured out but I couldn’t see it. Is giving a testimony all it takes? Going for mid-week meetings every now and then? Coming early to church? These are all the basic things expected of us as Christian so why is there a hype over it?

In no time, I found myself trapped in a corner. Unable to show my short comings, having to keep up with an image that I never asked for. Only if they knew how inadequate I am! How much I struggle!

As I listened to this song; especially the chorus, I couldn’t help but be comforted. I don’t have to be someone else just to please people or meet their expectations – church people or not.

I’m a product of Grace…. I don’t have to be great because my God is!

Leave a comment