Ebenezer

new-beginningRecently, l was having a conversation with one of my very good friends and somehow, we got talking about how I used to strongly dislike almost everyone. That might sound like a funny sentence but for me that was reality.

I had had so much happen around me that further sealed that thought. I saw almost no good in people and believed no one. I had a cynical explanation for almost every nice act that people did.

To simply put it, I was a mess.

But somewhere along the way, God guided me to Himself. In the moment when I felt farthest from God, He pulled me to Himself with His endless love. It was a replica of the story of the prodigal son that found his way home.

As we continued our conversation, it dawned on me just how far God has brought me from who I used to be. I smile so much when I hear people talk about how easily I relate with others knowing who I used to be.

Often, I realise that I get so caught up with trying to be a “better” me that forget to appreciate all that God has done for me. While it is often said that we should burn the old bridges and not look back, I find that for me to truly appreciate the Lord’s mercy in my life, I must understand just how far He has brought me out from the miry clay.

I am so thankful and grateful that I can say, the Lord is my Ebenezer! So far has the Lord helped me.

 

“Samuel took a single rock and set it upright between Mizpah and Shen. He named it “Ebenezer” (Rock of Help), saying, “This marks the place where GOD helped us.”” 1 Samuel 7:12 (MSG)

1 thoughts on “Ebenezer

Leave a comment